With a new album on the way, Michigan’s own Frankie Ballard returns to Detroit bringing new music with him.

On June 10, Warner Music Nashville will release the next installment of Frankie Ballard with a second full album entitled El Rio. In the meantime, Frankie and his band are traveling across the country entertaining the crowds and introducing his new music to his fans.

On Saturday night, Frankie returned to The Fillmore in Detroit, where family and friends anxiously waited for him to take the stage. For Frankie and his lead guitarist/best friend Eddie Robinson, this is a homecoming of sorts as they grew up together in the streets of Battle Creek, Michigan, just a few short hours away to the west. As Frankie stated during the show, he also has family in and around the Detroit area, making this a unique kind of family reunion.

Before Frankie took to the stage, Detroit’s own Matt Austin warmed up the stage with a short musical set of his own. With a larger than life ego and huge fan following, Matt has made a name for himself on the east side of the state by playing the bigger venues and opening up for National acts.

Pacing back and forth across the stage, Matt jumped up on the riser platforms to sing to the crowd in front of him.

He played guitar and sang his originals, including “Bad Feeling” from his album The Island. Matt also played “On The Road Again” by Bob Seger and “Free Fallin'” by Tom Petty. The crowd was in a rowdy mood at the end of his set, ready for the headliner to arrive.

As Frankie’s band approached the stage, you could feel the adrenaline in the air as they started the prelude and Frankie walked out on stage to their previous hit song, “Young And Crazy.”

Frankie filled his 75-minute show with older material and new songs alike, including tracks from his last album, Sunshine And Whiskey. He also performed numbers from his upcoming album, like current single “It All Started With A Beer,” and “Cigarette.”

Being considered an old soul of modern country, Frankie reached back to his days as a youth with “Hound Dog” and “Heartbreak Hotel” by the late Elvis Presley. He showcased his guitar skills when playing “La Grange” by ZZ Top.

The concert was a review of great guitar work. Throughout the show, Frankie would team up with his lead guitarist Eddie and alternate guitar solos for most songs. However they joined forces together to exhibit their gift of guitar finesse inside of another new song, “Thinkin’ Country.”

With the arrival of an encore, Frankie completed his show with one last display of musical magic with the Bob Dylan classic, “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door.” With the crowd’s approval and appreciation, Frankie left the stage to chants of his name filling the venue.

Frankie Ballard
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Matt Austin
Website | Facebook | Twitter

The Fillmore Detroit
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Frankie Ballard setlist:

  1. Young And Crazy
  2. Drinky Drink
  3. Cigarette
  4. Sunshine And Whiskey
  5. Tell Me You Get Lonely
  6. Hound Dog/Heartbreak Hotel – Elvis Presley covers
  7. It All Started With A Beer
  8. Thinkin’ Country
  9. Helluva Life
  10. L.A. Woman
  11. La Grange – ZZ Top cover
  12. Encore – Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door – Bob Dylan cover