Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert, Brooks & Dunn, George Strait, Reba, Kenny Chesney, and Taylor Swift set to receive memorable awards.

The Golden Anniversary of the Academy of Country Music Awards will see seven artists receive the ACM 50th Anniversary Milestone Award. The specially commissioned award will honor Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert, Brooks & Dunn, George Strait, Reba, Kenny Chesney, and Taylor Swift for their innovative careers. Each artist reached a remarkable milestone within the ACM. Jewelry expert David Yurman will design an exclusive trophy for the recipients.

The seven artists receiving the award are an elite group of musicians who have undoubtedly increased the popularity of country music. Individually, their careers are just as exceptional. Each artist is being recognized for their memorable achievements.

Garth Brooks
Six of Garth Brooks 21 ACM awards are for Entertainer of the Year. He has won this award more than anyone and is nominated again in 2015.

Miranda Lambert
The Academy’s most awarded solo female artist has amassed 18 ACM awards. This year, Lambert leads all acts with eight nominations, including her ninth consecutive nomination for Female Vocalist of the Year.

Brooks & Dunn
Brooks & Dunn, the best-selling duo in country music history, are also the winningest act in the Academy. They own 27 ACM awards with 16 wins as the Top Vocal Duo.

George Strait
Over four decades, the “King of Country” has earned 21 ACM Awards. George received the 40th Anniversary Milestone Award in 2005.

The “Queen of Country” has hosted the ACM Awards a record 14 times. Reba also owns seven Female Vocalist of the Year trophies, which is more than any other artist.

Kenny Chesney
In 2008, Chesney became the first artist in history chosen by fans as Entertainer of the Year. Chesney has four ACM Entertainer of the Year trophies and a total of 11 ACM Awards.

Taylor Swift
At 21, Swift became the youngest Entertainer of the Year winner. She now has eight ACM Awards, which includes the 2011 Jim Reeves International Award recognizing her contributions to the acceptance of country music around the world.

Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan will co-host the festivities live at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas on Apr 19. The event begins at 8pm and will run until 11:30 in celebration of the Academy’s 50th anniversary. Garth Brooks, Miranda Lambert, Reba, and George Strait will perform along with Jason Aldean, Dierks Bently, Luke Bryan, and others. CBS will broadcast the event, and tickets to this year’s ACM Awards sold out last April in under 20 minutes.

Academy of Country Music
Website | Facebook | Twitter


About The Author

Holland, MI native currently attending Michigan State University. Studying Media and Information, with a focus on TV, Cinema, and Radio. Plays Division 3 Ice Hockey at Michigan State. Enjoys country, blues, alternative, punk, folk, and rock.